FAQ: Ingredients

Which probiotics do your kefir and yogurt contain?

To make our kefir and yogurt, we ferment milk with live and active cultures that contain potent probiotics. Probiotic literally means “life giving,” and the live, active cultures help our digestive system break down food and absorb nutrients. We use a blend of cultures in our kefir and yogurt selected for their unique and complementary roles in flavor and probiotic development.

Our kefir includes the following cultures: Bifidobacterium lactis, S. thermophilus, L. casei, L. rhamnosus, L. acidophilus, L. delbrueckii subsp. lactis, L. delbrueckii subsp. bulgaricus, Lactococcus lactis subsp. cremoris, Lactococcus lactis subsp. lactis, Lactococcus lactis subsp. lactis biovar diacetylactis, and Leuconostoc mesenteroides subsp. cremoris.

Our yogurt includes the following cultures: S. thermophilus, Bifidobacterium lactis, L. acidophilus, L. casei, L. rhamnosus, L. delbrueckii subsp. lactis, and L. delbrueckii subsp. bulgaricus.

Our kefir and yogurt both contain hundreds of billions of probiotics per serving.

Do your products contain gluten?

All of our products are Certified Gluten-Free by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO) and are made in a facility that does not contain any products with gluten as an ingredient.

Do you add any sugar to your plain yogurt or kefir?

We don’t add sugar to our plain goat milk kefir or yogurt. The sugar content on the label reflects the milk sugar (lactose), which is naturally occurring in the milk.

How do you sweeten your vanilla and fruit yogurts?

We recently reformulated our vanilla yogurt to give it a classic vanilla flavor, using organic vanilla extract and organic cane sugar. After many trials, we came up with our new recipe that features the bright, classic aroma of pure vanilla, without being overly sweet.

If you prefer the taste of our previous vanilla yogurt recipe, try stirring a couple of teaspoons of maple syrup into our plain yogurt, which contains no added sugar. That way, you can adjust the sweetness to your liking!

We also reformulated our fruit yogurts with the goal of using less sugar and more fruit. We now use all-organic fruit and organic cane sugar to flavor our fruit yogurts. Our new recipe has 50% more fruit, twice as many actual fruit pieces, and less sugar per serving. We find that using organic cane sugar provides the perfect balance of sweetness and tart.

Why does your yogurt contain pectin and tapioca starch?

We use a small amount of tapioca starch and pectin to thicken the yogurt, create its delicate texture, and minimize excess whey (the liquid that separates from yogurt). We use a non-GMO tapioca starch, derived from the root of the Cassava plant. Our pectin is citrus-based, derived from lemon and lime peels. Our kefirs do not contain any tapioca or pectin.

If you are highly allergic to potato, we suggest you ask your physician if consumption of tapioca is advisable.

What type of rennet do you use in your cheese?

We use a non-GMO vegetarian, microbial rennet that meets kosher standards and is gluten free. Rennet is an enzyme used to coagulate milk in cheese making.

Does your goat milk kefir contain alcohol?

Our kefir does not contain alcohol. Traditionally, kefir was made with kefir grains, which produce a small amount of alcohol during the fermentation process. Since we wanted to make a product that allows our customers to enjoy cultured dairy without having to worry about alcohol in the finished product, we use a blend of live and active cultures instead of kefir grains. We carefully picked this specific blend because it produces billions of probiotic bacteria in every serving, and creates the kefir flavor we were looking for, without creating alcohol as a byproduct.