Casein is a natural protein found in all milk. Some people have an intolerance or allergy to casein—especially alpha s1 casein, which occurs in high levels in most cow milk. Goat milk is generally lower in alpha S1 casein and often contains a higher percentage of alpha s2 casein, depending on the breed. Casein comprises 70-80% of the proteins in goat milk; whey proteins account for the other 20-30%. Whey contains many of the important nutrients in yogurt and kefir that aid in muscle development and support the body’s immune response.
If you have been diagnosed with a milk protein allergy, goat milk may not be right for you. It is important that you consult your physician or health provider before making any dietary changes.
Goat milk naturally contains slightly less lactose than cow milk, and is therefore not lactose free. Our goat milk yogurts and kefirs both contain about 2% lactose, compared to 4.9% in whole cow milk.1
We do produce lactose-free yogurt, kefir, sour cream, cream cheese, and butter made with organic cow milk under our sister brand, Green Valley Creamery. Visit greenvalleylactosefree.com to learn more.
There are key nutritional differences between cow milk and goat milk that make goat milk easier for many people to digest:
Many people also prefer the flavor of goat milk to cow milk. It has a grassy, earthy, sweet flavor that is simply delicious. We use only the freshest milk possible, resulting in a clean and mild flavor, without the “goatiness” some people associate with goat products. Give it a try and see why more people in the world drink goat milk than any other milk!
Join our mailing list to receive recipes, news, coupons, and more